Back To Press Archive

Press Release

Contact: Dustin Buell
Phone: 316.634.8821


For Immediate Release


Heartspring welcomes new board leadership and members

WICHITA, KS - Heartspring announced the election of six new members to its Board of Directors: Deborah Cape, Director of Finance, Cox Communications; John Engels, Berry Companies, Inc. (retired); Mike Flores, Assistant Director School of Accountancy, Wichita State University; Phil Garrison, First Vice President – Investments, Wells Fargo Advisors; Kimberly Gattis, Senior Vice President and Wealth Advisor, UMB Bank; and Dr. Krishan Goyle, MD.

In addition, Laurie Labarca, Executive Vice President and COO for Via Christi, was elected Board Chair, succeeding Don Glenn, Executive Vice President, Allen, Gibbs, & Houlik. Also, Brenda Koehring, retired Senior Vice President of Human Resources at Flint Hills Resources has been elected to Vice Chair.  Koehring and Labarca join returning board Secretary Treasurer Andrew Thengvall, Partner, Foulston Siefkin.

Board Members whose terms have expired are:  Jim Wong, Tom Roulston, John Ek, and Elena Somerhalder. 

Heartspring President and CEO Gary Singleton thanked those that have served on the board and welcomed the new members.  “Serving on the board of a thriving non-profit like Heartspring requires dedication, time, and commitment.  We are incredibly grateful for the service of Jim, Tom, John, and Elena for providing their time and talents to strengthening our organization and providing a positive impact on the lives with which we are entrusted.  Thank you for your service.”

Singleton continued, “It is always exciting to welcome new members to the board, who bring with them a fresh perspective and a different personal approach.  I know that their service will provide tremendous benefits to the board and organization as a whole.”


Join Our Mailing List

I would like to receive:

* indicates required